Its A Girls World






Happy Birthday to me!

Tomorrow and this weekend I will be celebrating my 26 years with my family and friends....all 26 years, the good, the bad and the stupid. Last year on my 25th birthday I had a small mental breakdown....this year I am determined it will be better. It wasn’t that I was turning 25 and complaining about my age, it was the fact that I could remember when I was in high school and my teachers were 25. Back then 25 seemed forever away from 17 and now, here I am, with 26 right around the corner. Its scary how time flies....but in my 25 years on this planet there are a few good "life lessons" I have learned. I thought I would share some of my wisdom with you…(they do say you get smarter with age, right?)

#1. Never give a complete stranger the keys to your car! I went to the salon a while back to get my hair cut and colored…by the time she was finished making me look half way decent I noticed it was pouring rain outside. I was standing at the door looking all pitiful because I did not want to run out in the rain, when an older man asked me if I wanted him to pull my car around. No…this wasn’t the valet service but I, being in a DUH moment, said "oh that is soo sweet of you", gave him my keys and pointed to the red Honda parked in the back of the parking lot. I watched him run out to get in my car and then watched him pull out of the parking lot onto the main road. In that instant my stomach dropped to my knees. How could I be so stupid? What was I going to tell the police when they filed a report…"well Officer, I pretty much handed over the keys to my car." I felt like the BIGGEST idiot. Thank goodness he pulled back in the other entrance and dropped off my car. He said he did that to avoid a big pot hole that was in the parking lot but I seriously think he did it just to see the look of sheer panic on my face.

#2. Think twice before you buy something ...just because it looks good on the model. I wanted something new to wear to a Christmas event last year...so I started looking through the Victoria Secrets clothing section of the magazine. I came across the cutest red sweater that I could wear with jeans or black pants. I decided to make the 68$ purchase.... I mean it looked good on Gisele so why not? Ohhhh nooooo....I was so excited the day I got the package in the mail, I ripped open the box and to my horror pulled out the UGLIEST red sweater I have ever seen in my entire life. I thought it was some kind of joke. I could wear it to a Christmas party...but only if the theme was Ugly Christmas Sweaters. It was sooo hideous I didnt even put it out with my clothes at the recent yard sale. I was too embarassed....Im even to embarassed to post a pitcure of the sweater on here. It is bad...real bad.

#3. Always evaluate the situation before trying to flirt with a man in uniform. Ha...let me explain... My girlfriends and I went out on a Saturday for a girls night out. It was the usual...bar hopping and dancing. At 2:00 when the bars closed we piled in my car and headed back to "the ville." As we were driving downtown ... we came up to a stoplight right beside the firestation. Well....look what we have here...we are stopped right infront of a bunch of firefighters. I start honking the horn and my friends are waving and trying to talk to them out of the window and sure enough one of them starts walking towards us. We, are of course thinking he is coming to talk to us , flirt with us a little, maybe invite us to come take a tour of the firestation (yes this has happened before.) He walked around to my side of the car...I was beaming ear to ear as I rolled down my window. I boldly said hello while trying to give him my sexiest eye flutter...he then proceeded to tell me... "Mam, you are riding around with your lights off and if you dont turn them on the police officer sitting right around the corner is going to give you a ticket." I was speechless...my face was the color of the fire truck, Im sure. Then he just walked away. Opps!!!


Wisdom comes with age... I would like to think this is THE positive to growing older (I know for sure the patch of gray hair forming around my forehead is not a perk.) So, if you are out tomorrow have a few drinks in honor of my birthday.... take my words of advice and don't do anything I WOULD do because sometimes I feel like I am still waiting for my 26 years of wisdom to arrive.
« Home | Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »