Its A Girls World






My birthday weekend!!

I went home to NC for my birthday this past weekend. Home Sweet Home. I realized while I was there that while I do miss my family and friends …there are some things I don’t miss. Friday I left the warm breezy town that I currently live in, drove four hours and when I stepped out of the car you would’ve thought I had flown across the ocean to Antarctica. I am a big baby when it comes to cold weather and I know it wasn’t like 30 below or anything but when you are use to 70 and 80 degree weather and then you are jolted into 50 degree weather it is not fun…especially when you forget to check the weather channel so the only clothes you pack are short sleeve shirts and t-shirts. Opps!



Friday was spent at my grandparents. The entire family came over for dinner… you know it’s always a special occasion when I come into town ;) We had meatloaf, cream corn, biscuits, macaroni and cheese, cabbage casserole, sweet potato casserole, green beans, banana pudding and pecan pie. Obviously I miss the home cooked meals but I don’t miss the feeling of having to unbutton my pants after I finish eating. I think I gained an extra ten pounds this weekend.



Friday night, my friend L and I decided to meet up with one of my old friends from college and go out to a local bar. We did the same routine that we always do, around 8:30 we started getting all dressed up for a night on the town. We met up at my friend’s apartment and from the moment we walked in I knew it was going to be an interesting night. When we got there the guys had obviously been drinking for a while so I knew immediately it was going to be action packed. I also glanced up on the mantle in the living room and just so happen to notice something that made my stomach flip flop. There on the top shelf was a Hi-tom baseball bobble head. The Hi-Toms is a local baseball team that is made up of different college students from all over. If you were to ever go to a game you would think you were watching the Yankees play or that you were getting ready to watch Mickey Mantle come up to bat….there are some die hard fans…and this guy was obviously one of them. I didn’t even have to take the doll off the shelf to recognize the profile…It was the bobble head of my ex-husband. I decided to make a big deal about it just to make him feel extremely uncomfortable…which was only done for my own benefit. It was funny to watch him squirm…he kept apologizing and even offered to take it down and get rid of it. Even though that would have been a nice gesture there was no need for a guy I just met to get rid of part of his wonderful Hi-toms collection. (Who has a Hi-Tom collection anyway??)



We finally left his apartment and headed up to "Safari" one of the local karaoke hangouts. When we walked in, I immediately almost passed out from the thick cloud of smoke that filled the room. (The non smoking law that was recently passed in my town has spoiled me.) and I also noticed all the dead animals that were plastered up on the wall.





L and I did a quick sweep of the room and only one thing stood out to me…I don’t think I have ever seen more mullets in one room at the same time. Mullets everywhere!! We got a seat at the bar (beside a guy with a mullet…go figure) and I could feel every ones eyes burning right through me. L noticed it as well… " I don’t think we fit in here." I am not sure what made us stand out…it could’ve been the way we were dressed or maybe the crowd we showed up with. (I’ll explain in a minute). I haven’t lived at home for 5 years and I guess I have forgotten the dress code of T-ville. L and I were both in dressy shirts, jeans and heels while most of the girls there were wearing holey jeans, tennis shoes and even baseball hats. The room was filled with a broad age range – anywhere from 18 to yes some older ladies that had to be in their 80s…drinking beer smoking a cigarette at one of the booths in the back. (That could’ve been me in 60 years)



As we are sitting at the bar playing lets see how many mullets we can find, I start to take notice of the guys that we were hanging out with and the rumbling that is going on in the far corner with some other "locals." The next thing I know fists are flying...they were so drunk they missed each other by a mile...but I was just waiting for them to start rolling around the disgusting floor. L and I just watched from a distance as some of the other girls started getting involved. Let me just say there is no way in hell I would ever take the chance of some guy hitting me square in the eye or nose...so we just watched ....and laughed. Some guy with no teeth was yelling about taking the fight outside ...another with "Bubba teeth" was swinging his arms around in the air...the guys I was with , I'm embarrassed to say, were starting to roll up there sleeves (I guess in a mans world this is some threat... basically like saying "bring it on") Finally, the local deputy (short, over weight, bald man) came to the rescue and broke up the fight. I was ready to get out of there by that time and so was my friend. I DO NOT miss the drunken redneck fights that's for sure!! I love going back to visit don't get me wrong... I can not deny my roots and where I grew up.....its just funny how much difference a four hour drive can bring.





~~I also went out with a bunch of my girlfriends here in town on Thursday night. I had a blast...I am attaching some pictures of Thursday night as well for your enjoyment. :) It was a much calmer night...no fights, no dead animals, no smoke....its nice to be "home"


« Home | Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »